Lifo - Laboratoire d'Informatique Fondamentale d'orléans INSA Centre Val de Loire Université d'Orléans Université d'Orléans

Lifo > Research Actions at LIFO > Research Action : ANR GRAPHEM

 Site en Français



Contact

LIFO - Bâtiment IIIA
Rue Léonard de Vinci
B.P. 6759
F-45067 ORLEANS Cedex 2

Email: contact.lifo
Tel: +33 (0)2 38 41 70 11
Fax: +33 (0)2 38 41 71 37



ANR GRAPHEM : Grapheme based Retrieval and Analysis for PaleograpHic Expertise of Middle Age manuscripts

The GRAPHEM project is a multi-disciplinary project that is based on rich medieval manuscripts corpus. It has two ambitions:

  • to contribute to the creation of a true objective and scientific paleography; to create accurate methods for accessing to the contents of these manuscripts, using word-image similarities (Word Spotting, Word Retrieval).
  • The richness and diversity of the writings (of Latin language) will allow us to elaborate and test shape descriptors that will be used in the two applications. A particular caution will be held on the study of graphemes as pieces of strokes holding relevant information.

The laboratories composing the consortium are the LIRIS, the IRHT, the LIFO, the CRIP5 and the Ecole des Chartes. They worked together a few years ago on a project aiming to the exploration of medieval manuscripts. This project was part of the "Société de l'information" program of the CRNS and was entitled "Formes et Couleurs, outils de recherche". It was in this context that the roots of GRAPHEM were constituted.

However, the expected results are of a different kind. In the case of the paleography, we will aim at the development of knowledge and the formalization of the domain. The methods of access to the the textual content of medieval manuscripts are to be used in other contexts than the medieval manuscripts. They have a semiotic nature and can be called alternative solutions to the optical character recognition methods (OCR).

Participating Members

Matthieu EXBRAYAT

Lionel MARTIN

Action's Web Page

http://liris.cnrs.fr/graphem/

Lifo - Laboratoire d'Informatique Fondamentale d'orléans INSA Centre Val de Loire Université d'Orléans Université d'Orléans

Lifo > Les Actions de Recherche du LIFO > Action de Recherche : ANR GRAPHEM

 English Version



Contact

LIFO - Bâtiment IIIA
Rue Léonard de Vinci
B.P. 6759
F-45067 ORLEANS Cedex 2

Email: contact.lifo
Tel: +33 (0)2 38 41 70 11
Fax: +33 (0)2 38 41 71 37



ANR GRAPHEM : Aide à l'expertise paléographique et à l'accès au contenu dans les écritures médiévales

Le projet GRAPHEM est un projet pluridisciplinaire qui s'appuie sur les très riches corpus de manuscrits du Moyen-Âge ; il a la double ambition de :

  • contribuer à créer une véritable paléographie objective et scientifique,
  • créer des méthodes efficaces d'accès au contenu de ces manuscrits reposant sur la similarité d'images de ces mots (Word-Spotting, Word-Retrivial).

La richesse et la diversité des écritures (issues de la langue latine) permettront d'élaborer et de tester des descripteurs de formes qui seront employés dans les deux cas, une attention particulière sera portée à l'étude du graphème entendu comme un petit morceau de trait portant une information pertinente.

Les laboratoires constituant le consortium sont le LIRIS, l'IRHT, le LIFO, le CRIP5 et l'Ecole des Chartes. Ils ont déjà travaillé ensemble, il y a quelques années, dans un projet d'exploration de ces manuscrits médiévaux, projet appartenant au programme "Société de l'Information" du CNRS et intitulé "Formes et Couleurs, outils de recherche". C'est dans ce contexte que la formulation de GRAPHEM a été initialisée.

Les résultats escomptés sont de nature différente. Pour la paléographie, il s'agit d'un développement de connaissances, de la formalisation du domaine. Les méthodes d'accès au contenu textuel ont vocation à être utilisées dans d'autres contextes que le manuscrit du Moyen-Âge. Elles ont un caractère sémiotique et font partie de ce que l'on pourrait appeler les alternatives aux méthodes de reconnaissance optique des caractères (O.C.R.).

Participants

Matthieu EXBRAYAT

Lionel MARTIN

Page web de l'action

http://liris.cnrs.fr/graphem/