Lifo - Laboratoire d'Informatique Fondamentale d'orléans INSA Centre Val de Loire Université d'Orléans Université d'Orléans

Lifo > LIFO Research Report for Year 2001

 Site en Français



Contact

LIFO - Bâtiment IIIA
Rue Léonard de Vinci
B.P. 6759
F-45067 ORLEANS Cedex 2

Email: contact.lifo
Tel: +33 (0)2 38 41 70 11
Fax: +33 (0)2 38 41 71 37



Go to Research Reports of Year : 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017

LIFO Research Report for Year 2001


RR-2001-01 Cartographie de textes, une nouvelle approche pour l'exploration sémantique des corpus homogènes de grande dimension
I. DEBOURGES, S. GUILLORE-BILLOT, C. VRAIN
Date : 2001-03-07
Abstract Download

RR-2001-02 Net Juggler Guide
J. ALLARD, L. LECOINTRE, V. GOURANTON, E. MELIN, B. RAFFIN
Date : 2001-06-15
Abstract Download

RR-2001-03 Chordal embeddings of planar graphs
V. BOUCHITTE, F. MAZOIT, I. TODINCA
Date : 2001-10-04
Abstract Download

RR-2001-04 On treewidth approximations
V. BOUCHITTE, D. KRATSCH, H. MULLER, I TODINCA
Date : 2001-10-17
Abstract Download

RR-2001-05 Theoretical foundations of value withdrawal explanations in constraints solving by domain reduction
G. FERRAND, W. LESAINT, A. TESSIER
Date : 2001-11-22
Abstract Download

RR-2001-06 Learning Constraints between Variables in Inductive Logic Programming
A. BRAUD, C. VRAIN
Date : 2001-12-21
Abstract Download

RR-2001-07 Equational Unification, Rewrite Reachability, and Labelled Dag Automata
S. ANANTHARAMAN, P. NARENDRAN, M. RUSINOWITCH
Date : 2001-12-27
Abstract Download


Abstracts of Research Reports


RR-2001-01 Cartographie de textes, une nouvelle approche pour l'exploration sémantique des corpus homogènes de grande dimension
I. DEBOURGES, S. GUILLORE-BILLOT, C. VRAIN
Abstract : We present an ongoing research project on the new field of Text Mapping that all ows a novice user to explore a new domain by navigation through an homogeneous corpus thanks to interactive conceptual maps. A map is composed of concepts (the nodes) depending on the user's request and its evolution, and semantic/lexical relations (the links). Machine Learning techniques are combined with Natural Language Processing methodologies to build the maps. The algorithms are implemented in a prototype. Experiments on different english and french corpora show encouraging results.
Keywords : Text Mapping | Information Retrieval | Information Extraction | Machine Learning

RR-2001-02 Net Juggler Guide
J. ALLARD, L. LECOINTRE, V. GOURANTON, E. MELIN, B. RAFFIN
Abstract : The Net Juggler library allows to run on a cluster the virtual reality environment VR Juggler. Net Juggler Guide details Net Juggler installation, use and programming.
Keywords :

RR-2001-03 Chordal embeddings of planar graphs
V. BOUCHITTE, F. MAZOIT, I. TODINCA
Abstract : Robertson and Seymour conjectured that the treewidth of a planar graph and the treewidth of its geometric dual differ by at most one. Lapoire solved the conjecture in the affirmative, using algebraic techniques. We give here a much shorter proof of this result.
Keywords : planar graphs; duality; chordal graphs; treewidth

RR-2001-04 On treewidth approximations
V. BOUCHITTE, D. KRATSCH, H. MULLER, I TODINCA
Abstract : We introduce a natural heuristic for approximating the treewidth of graphs. We prove that this heuristic gives a constant factor approximation for the treewidth of graphs with bounded asteroidal number. Using a different technique, we give a O(log OPT) approximation algorithm for the treewidth of arbitrary graphs.
Keywords : treewidth; asteroidal number; graph algorithms; approximation algorithms

RR-2001-05 Theoretical foundations of value withdrawal explanations in constraints solving by domain reduction
G. FERRAND, W. LESAINT, A. TESSIER
Abstract : Constraint programming is an important programming paradigm of the last years. It combines declarativity and efficiency thanks to constraint solvers which are implemented for specific domains. We are interested here in the case of reduction of finite domains. In the paper, it is formalized with chaotic iterations of monotonic operators. A first notion of explanation, which have been proved very useful in many applications, is then defined in a declarative way in terms of closure. An explanation set for a value removal is a set of operators which always remove this value whatever the order of application of these operators is. A monotonic operator can always be defined by a set of rules (in the sense of inductive definition of Aczel). Furthermore, the paper shows that for classical notions of local consistency, such a system of rules can be expressed in a natural way. They express value removals as consequences of other value removals. So, a more precise notion of explanation can be obtained: the linking of these rules allows to inductively define proof trees. Such a proof tree clearly explains the removal of a value (the root of the tree) by the solver, it is then called an explanation for this value withdrawal. Explanations are the essence of domain reduction.
Keywords : CSP; constraint programming; domain reduction explanation

RR-2001-06 Learning Constraints between Variables in Inductive Logic Programming
A. BRAUD, C. VRAIN
Abstract : In Inductive Logic Programming, a critical point is the complexity of the algorithms inherent in first order representations. An interesting solution to this, called propositionalization, consists in reformulating a relational problem into an attribute-value one. A pattern describing the general form of the rules is given or learned, and the system has to specialize it by learning either symbolic constraints, as for instance equality relations between variables, or numeric ones. We propose to use a genetic approach to specialize such patterns. In this paper, we are interested in learning suitable equality constraints between variables. The main originality of our approach relies on the coding of these constraints and the corresponding genetic operators. Instead of coding in an individual whether pairs of variables are equal or not, we represent the equivalence classes involved by the equality relations, and apply set-based operators on them to produce new individuals.
Keywords : Inductive Logic Programming; Propositionalization; Genetic Algorithms

RR-2001-07 Equational Unification, Rewrite Reachability, and Labelled Dag Automata
S. ANANTHARAMAN, P. NARENDRAN, M. RUSINOWITCH
Abstract : $E$-unification problems are central in automated deduction. Their study is often closely related to problems from other fields (e.g., linear diophantine equations, tree automata). In this paper, we consider theories $E$ that are extensions of the well-known $AC$ or $ACU$, such as $ACID$ and $ACUIH^C$, and relate their study to language problems over automata on term-dags with or without labels, and reachability problems on Minsky machine configurations. By attaching suitable rewrite semantics to executions of instructions on such machines, we first show that unification modulo the theory $ACUIH^C$ -- i.e. $ACU$ plus idempotence and a set of commuting homomorphisms -- is undecidable in general. Next, by looking at these machines from a slightly different angle and by attaching rewrite semantics to incorrect machine behavior this time, we derive a proof that the universality of $t$-dag automata is undecidable; a corollary is that $t$-dag automata are not stable under complementation. We then consider the class of of labelled $t$-dag automata, extending that of $t$-dag automata -- which are not stable under complementation either, and for which universality remains undecidable. We finally show that the $ACID$-unification problem, i.e. unification modulo $AC$ plus idempotence and distributivity, can be solved in NEXPTIME, in terms of such labelled automata.
Keywords :

Lifo - Laboratoire d'Informatique Fondamentale d'orléans INSA Centre Val de Loire Université d'Orléans Université d'Orléans

Lifo > Les rapports de recherche du LIFO en 2001

 English Version



Contact

LIFO - Bâtiment IIIA
Rue Léonard de Vinci
B.P. 6759
F-45067 ORLEANS Cedex 2

Email: contact.lifo
Tel: +33 (0)2 38 41 70 11
Fax: +33 (0)2 38 41 71 37



Accéder aux Rapports de l'année : 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017

Les rapports de recherche du LIFO en 2001


RR-2001-01 Cartographie de textes, une nouvelle approche pour l'exploration sémantique des corpus homogènes de grande dimension
I. DEBOURGES, S. GUILLORE-BILLOT, C. VRAIN
Date : 2001-03-07
Résumé Télécharger

RR-2001-02 Net Juggler Guide
J. ALLARD, L. LECOINTRE, V. GOURANTON, E. MELIN, B. RAFFIN
Date : 2001-06-15
Résumé Télécharger

RR-2001-03 Chordal embeddings of planar graphs
V. BOUCHITTE, F. MAZOIT, I. TODINCA
Date : 2001-10-04
Résumé Télécharger

RR-2001-04 On treewidth approximations
V. BOUCHITTE, D. KRATSCH, H. MULLER, I TODINCA
Date : 2001-10-17
Résumé Télécharger

RR-2001-05 Theoretical foundations of value withdrawal explanations in constraints solving by domain reduction
G. FERRAND, W. LESAINT, A. TESSIER
Date : 2001-11-22
Résumé Télécharger

RR-2001-06 Learning Constraints between Variables in Inductive Logic Programming
A. BRAUD, C. VRAIN
Date : 2001-12-21
Résumé Télécharger

RR-2001-07 Equational Unification, Rewrite Reachability, and Labelled Dag Automata
S. ANANTHARAMAN, P. NARENDRAN, M. RUSINOWITCH
Date : 2001-12-27
Résumé Télécharger


Résumés des rapports de recherche


RR-2001-01 Cartographie de textes, une nouvelle approche pour l'exploration sémantique des corpus homogènes de grande dimension
I. DEBOURGES, S. GUILLORE-BILLOT, C. VRAIN
Résumé : Nous présentons les avancées d'un projet dans un thème que nous qualifions de Cartographie de Textes (ou Text Mapping) qui permet à un utilisateur novice d'explorer un nouveau domaine par navigation au sein d'un corpus homogène grâce à des cartes conceptuelles interactives. Une carte est composée de concepts pertinents relativement à la requête initiale et à son évolution, au sein du corpus; des relations sémantiques ou lexicales, extraites du corpus, les lient aux mots clés de la requête. Des techniques d'Apprentissage Automatique sont combinées avec des heuristiques statistiques de Traitement Automatique des Langues pour la mise en évidence de collocations afin de construire les cartes. Un prototype implantant ces idées a été écrit et les expérimentations menées sur différents corpus de langues anglaise et francaise montrent des résultats encourageants.
Mot(s) Clé(s) : Cartographie de Textes; Recherche Documentaire; Extraction d'Information; Apprentissage Automatique

RR-2001-02 Net Juggler Guide
J. ALLARD, L. LECOINTRE, V. GOURANTON, E. MELIN, B. RAFFIN
Résumé : Net Juggler est une librairie permettant d'exécuter l'environnement de réalité virtuelle VR Juggler sur des grappes. Le Guide Net Juggler détaille l'installation, l'utilisation et la programmation de Net Juggler.
Mot(s) Clé(s) :

RR-2001-03 Chordal embeddings of planar graphs
V. BOUCHITTE, F. MAZOIT, I. TODINCA
Résumé : Robertson et Seymour ont conjecturé que la largeur arborescente d'un graphe planaire diffère de celle de son dual d'au plus une unité. Lapoire a prouvé cette conjecture, en utilisant des techniques algébriques. Nous donnons ici une preuve beaucoup plus courte de ce résultat.
Mot(s) Clé(s) : graphes planaire ; dualité ; graphes triangulé ; largeur arborescente.

RR-2001-04 On treewidth approximations
V. BOUCHITTE, D. KRATSCH, H. MULLER, I TODINCA
Résumé : Nous introduisons une heuristique naturelle pour approximer la largeur arborescente des graphes. Nous montrons que, pour les graphes ayant un nombre astéroïde borné, cette heuristique produit une approximation de la largeur arborescente à une constante multiplicative près. Par une technique complètement différente, nous donnons un algorithme qui approxime la largeur arborescente des graphes quelconques à un facteur O(log OPT) de l'optimum.
Mot(s) Clé(s) : largeur arborescente ; nombre astéroïde ; algorithmique des graphes ; algorithmes d'approximation

RR-2001-05 Theoretical foundations of value withdrawal explanations in constraints solving by domain reduction
G. FERRAND, W. LESAINT, A. TESSIER
Résumé : La programmation par contrainte est un important paradigme de programmation de ces dernières années. Elle combine déclarativité et efficacité grâce à des solveurs de contraintes implantés pour des domaines spécifiques. Nous nous intéressons ici au cas de la réduction de domaines finis. Dans ce papier, elle est formalisée par des itérations chaotiques d'opérateurs monotones. Une première notion d'explication, qui a été prouvée très utile dans de nombreuses applications, est défini de façon déclarative en terme de clôtures. Un ensemble explicatif pour un retrait de valeurs est un ensemble d'opérateurs qui retireront toujours cette valeur quelque-soit l'ordre d'application de ceux-ci. Un opérateur peut toujours être défini par un ensemble de règles (dans le sens des définitions inductives d'Aczel). De plus, le papier montre que pour des notions classiques de consistance locale, un tel système de règles peut s'exprimer de façon naturelle. Elles expriment le retrait de valeurs comme conséquences d'autres retraits de valeurs. Une notion d'explication plus précise peut alors être obtenu: l'enchainement de ces règles permet de définir inductivement des arbres de preuves. Un tel arbre exprime clairement le retrait d'une valeur (sa racine) par le solveur, il est alors appelé explication du retrait de cette valeur. Les explications sont l'essence de la réduction de domaine.
Mot(s) Clé(s) : CSP; programmation par contraintes; réduction de domaines; explication

RR-2001-06 Learning Constraints between Variables in Inductive Logic Programming
A. BRAUD, C. VRAIN
Résumé : Un des points critiques de la Programmation Logique Inductive est la complexité des algorithmes, inhérente aux représentations en logique du premier ordre. Une solution intéressante à ce problème, appelée propositionnalisation, consiste à reformuler un problème relationnel en un problème attribut-valeur. Un schéma décrivant la forme générale des règles est donné ou appris, et le système le spécialise en apprenant soit des constantes symboliques, comme par exemple des relations d'égalité entre variables, soit des contraintes numériques. Nous proposons d'utiliser une approche génétique pour spécialiser de tels schémas. Dans cet article, nous nous intéressons à l'apprentissage de contraintes d'égalité entre les variables. La principale originalité de notre approche repose sur le codage de ces contraintes et les opérateurs génétiques correspondants. Au lieu de coder dans un individu si les paires de variables sont égales ou non, nous représentons les classes d'équivalence induites, et appliquons des opérateurs basés sur la théorie des ensembles pour produire de nouveaux individus.
Mot(s) Clé(s) : Programmation Logique Inductive ; Propositionnalisation ; Algorithmes Génétiques

RR-2001-07 Equational Unification, Rewrite Reachability, and Labelled Dag Automata
S. ANANTHARAMAN, P. NARENDRAN, M. RUSINOWITCH
Résumé :
Mot(s) Clé(s) :