Fils d'Ariane

University : Main content

Titre de page

Projets

Contenu de la page principale

MIGRACT

This project is meant as an intervention within the global redefining of “postcolonial studies” which has taken place over the past 20 years. It explores notions of mobility and migration through a questioning of the impact of Humanities, and especially Arts, on public life. It relates to REMELICE’s two research axes, namely: “Interculturality and educational transmission” and “Cultural fact and citizenship”.

The multidisciplinary research team specializes in arts, languages, culture and education. We are currently working on a corpus of literary and artistic representations of migrations with a focus on geographic and cultural areas - French, English, Spanish and Japanese - which belong to REMELICE’s areas of expertise.

This corpus aims to:

  • analyze the literary and artistic propositions and angles in relation to migrations
  • explore new lines of investigation associated with mobility, migration, flow, uprootedness and displacement.

The exploration of mobility and migration through art and its aesthetic receptions proposes a shift from border control, activism, political, legal or diplomatic strategies, towards subjectivity and cultural representations. Such a shift will question the ideological models that support the notions of integration and assimilation in the chosen cultural areas. It will also highlight what Alexandre Gefen calls “useful” cultural productions when “literature proclaims itself useful because it relates to experiences of thoughts of moral value, and it allows us to recapture otherness in a fragmented society that is organized around individuals.”

The partnership with ERCAE (Sciences of Education - University of Orleans) is aimed at reaching out to the specific issues of educational practices. We wish to rethink the social and educational integration of migrant children with the support of a domain (arts) that is often overlooked in this particular curriculum (for newly arrived populations).

This project encompasses the visual arts, languages ​​and participatory sciences in their capacity to develop dynamics of co-creation with local communities. It considers the works of artists (migrants or not) as informative and ethical resources or, to put it another way, as ways of knowing and of thinking related and adapted to integration and education.

 

Key words :  migration, emigration, immigration, representations, art, culture, education, languages, language learning, identity.

Project leader : Geneviève Guetemme

Scientific committee : Brigitte Natanson (Spanish Studies), Kerry-Jane Wallart (Anglophone Studies).

University : Main content

Titre de page

Projets

Contenu de la page principale

MIGRACT

Ce projet s’inscrit dans un mouvement initié ces vingt dernières années pour une redéfinition des études postcoloniales. Il explore les mobilités et les migrances et, d’une manière générale, participe au questionnement des sciences humaines sur l’impact des humanités et plus particulièrement des arts, sur la vie publique. Il se rattache aux deux axes scientifiques du laboratoire REMELICE à savoir : « L'interculturalité et la transmission éducative » et « Le fait culturel et la citoyenneté ». 

L’équipe multidisciplinaire de chercheurs spécialisés dans les domaines des arts, des langues, de la culture et de l'éducation propose de définir un corpus de représentations littéraires et artistiques des migrations dans les aires géographiques et de culture – francophones, anglophones, hispanophones et japonophones – propres aux domaines d’expertise du laboratoire REMELICE.

Ce corpus doit permettre :

  • L’analyse des postures littéraires et artistiques en lien avec les migrations
  • La mise au jour d’une nouvelle pensée des mobilités, des migrances, des flux et des déplacements

Le passage par les arts et par les réceptions esthétiques propose de déplacer les regards de manière à aborder les migrations, non plus en termes de contrôle des frontières, d’activisme, de stratégies politiques, légales ou diplomatiques, mais en termes de subjectivité et de représentations culturelles. Ce glissement questionnera les modèles idéologiques qui soutiennent les notions d’intégration et d’assimilation dans plusieurs des aires culturelles choisies. Il mettra également en évidence des productions culturelles « utiles » selon l’acception d’Alexandre Gefen pour qui : « la littérature se proclame utile parce qu’elle nous met en contact avec des expériences de pensées à valeur morale, et parce qu'elle nous permet de ressaisir l’altérité dans une société éclatée en individus »

Le partenariat mis en place avec le laboratoire ERCAE de l’Université d’Orléans déplace, quant à lui, la réflexion sur le plan pédagogique. Il s’agit en effet de repenser radicalement l’accueil et l’intégration sociale et scolaire des enfants migrants en s’appuyant sur des domaines encore peu sollicités que sont les arts.

Ce projet englobe les arts plastiques, les langues et les sciences participatives dans leur capacité à développer des dynamiques de co-construction avec les communautés locales. Il considère les œuvres d’artistes (migrants ou non) comme des ressources informatives et éthiques ou, pour le dire autrement, comme des savoirs, des modalités de pensée, des méthodes en termes d'intégration et d'éducation,

Mots clés :  migration, émigration, immigration, représentations, art, culture, éducation, apprentissage des langues, langage, identité.

Responsable du projet : Geneviève Guetemme

Soutien scientifique : Brigitte Natanson (aire hispanophone), Kerry-Jane Wallart (aire anglophone).

Site web du projet : https://migract.msh-vdl.fr/

 

Image
Logo du projet Migract en lettres colorées